It was a throwback to another controversial moment at Lord’s between India and England in a women’s ODI that took place in September 2022. Just under three years from an incident that divided the cricketing world, when Deepti Sharma ran out Charlie Dean at the non-striker’s end to bring an end to a dramatic run-chase, India had an appeal turned for Obstructing the Field turned down against England batter Tammy Beaumont.
Once again, it was Deepti with the ball in hand. This time, she bowled a fuller one to the English opener in the fifth over of the innings. Beaumont drove the ball to the right of Jemimah Rodrigues at short midwicket. The Indian fielder dove to her right, stopped the ball and released a throw towards wicket-keeper Richa Ghosh. Beaumont was returning back to the crease after deciding against taking a quick single. But she was casually walking back, put her left feet over the crease, then with the right leg, seemed to attempt to kick the ball away. She didn’t make contact, and there wasn’t a run out chance but there was little doubt when watching in real time that Beaumont tried to boot the ball away before it reached Ghosh.
Rodrigues and Ghosh noticed it right away, and were gesturing to the umpires that Beaumont shaped to kick the ball. The keeper had her arms spread and it appeared India registered their appeal to the on-field umpires. They had a lengthy chat and then referred it upstairs to the TV umpire, who took a few look at the replays and decided it was not out.
However, India possibly had a strong case. There is no description in the relevant law where the batter is exempt from being given out obstructing the field, if they are back inside the crease. The ball was surely not dead at this point, it was very much still in play.
Here’s a look at the relevant law:
37 OBSTRUCTING THE FIELD
37.1 Out Obstructing the field
37.1.1 Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, and while the ball is in play, she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also clause 34 (Hit the ball twice).
37.1.2 The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of her wicket.
Obstructing the field rules. (Screengrab)
37.1.3 This clause will apply whether or not No ball is called.
Story continues below this ad
37.1.4 For the avoidance of doubt, if an umpire feels that a batter, in running between the wickets, has significantly changed her direction without probable cause and thereby obstructed a fielder’s attempt to effect a run out, the batter should, on appeal, be given out, obstructing the field. It shall not be relevant whether a run out would have occurred or not. If the change of direction involves the batter crossing the pitch, clause 41.14 shall also apply.
In a subsequent clause, the playing conditions say: a batter shall not be out Obstructing the field if obstruction or distraction is accidental, or obstruction is in order to avoid injury, or in the case of the striker, she makes a second or subsequent strike to guard her wicket lawfully.
Beaumont’s action doesn’t come under either accidental or an avoidance of injury.
Indeed, just last month during the WTC Final between Australia and South Africa, David Bedingham had a close shave. Australia appealed for a similar dismissal when the ball got stuck inside his pad flaps and he took the ball out and dropped it so that Alex Carey doesn’t claim a catch. In that case however it seemed the umpires were convinced the ball was dead. “I panicked big time,” Bedingham said. “The umpire said, regardless, I think it was dead ball. But I think the way I dropped the ball, (then) picked up the ball came across a bit dodgy. I’m glad they just withdrew the appeal … I’m glad nothing happened out of it.
Story continues below this ad
The decision, or lack thereof, didn’t however cost India too much. Beaumont was batting on 25 off 16 balls at that point, getting off to a strong start in England’s run-chase. But she was out in the 11th over, dismissed LBW by off-spinner Sneh Rana on 34 off 35 balls, slowing down after a quickfire beginning to her knock.
England skipper Nat Sciver-Brunt won the toss and have opted to field against India in the second ODI at the Home of Cricket, Lord’s, on Saturday. The match started late due to rain, reduced to 29-over-a-side game. In the series opener, a fiery half-century from Deepti Sharma and a soild bowling performance from all-rounder Sneh Rana had propelled India to a four-wicket win.